Consumer Confidence

National Consumer Confidence

National consumer confidence plummeted in March 2020, according to the Conference Board of Canada’s survey-based index of consumer confidence.

Overall consumer sentiment fell across all regions of the country as the news and economic impact of COVID-19 continues to worsen.

When asked about job prospects over the next six months, the number of respondents expressing pessimism rose sharply at the cost of fewer respondents expecting improvement and a steep decline in the number of those expecting stability.

Most consumers expect that their household budget will remain stable over the next six months, although the number of respondents expressing pessimism or uncertainty posted a strong gain. There was a noticeable decline in the number of respondents expecting their budget to remain stable or improve over the next six months.

Sentiment about making major purchases, like a home or a car, was down in all regions across the country. Overall, the percentage of consumers who thought it was a bad time to make a major purchase rose in March as the percentage of those who were uncertain or thought it was a good time for major purchases tumbled.

Confiance des consommateurs

La confiance des consommateurs

La confiance des consommateurs a chuté à l’échelle nationale en mars 2020, selon l’indice de confiance des consommateurs fondé sur les enquêtes du Conference Board du Canada.

La confiance générale s’est érodée dans toutes les régions du pays, alors que les nouvelles et l’impact économique liés à la COVID-19 continuent de se détériorer.

Quant à la perspective d’emploi au cours des six prochains mois, le nombre de répondants se déclarant comme pessimistes a augmenté de façon marquée, alors qu’un plus faible nombre de répondants s’attendent à plus de possibilités d’emploi, et que le nombre de répondants qui s’attendent à une stabilité connaît une forte baisse.

La plupart des consommateurs s’attendent à ce que le budget de leur ménage demeure stable au cours des six prochains mois, bien que le nombre de répondants pessimistes ou incertains ait connu une hausse importante. Le nombre de répondants qui s’attendent à ce que leur budget demeure stable ou s’améliore au cours des six prochains mois a fortement baissé.

La confiance du consommateur à l’égard d’achats importants, tels qu’une maison ou une voiture, est à la baisse à l’échelle du pays. En mars, le pourcentage de consommateurs qui jugeaient que le moment était défavorable aux achats importants a augmenté en faveur du pourcentage de consommateurs qui croyaient le contraire.